Reviews

Anonymous Reviewer
2016-09-12
Hi everyone! I have a great review for you. If you need a new sofa, don't waste your time running around all over, go see Hans at Alpha Designs. My new sectional is beautiful, custom designed by me and Hans got it to me in two weeks! Unbelievable. Hans is a very nice, honest man and my husband and I were happy to spend our money at his local, small business. We got exactly what we wanted for way less than Pottery Barn or Crate and Barrel. Thanks Hans, we are 100% satisfied! ... Oh and everything in the floor room is discounted so you might just find it there, without waiting, great store!
Anonymous Reviewer
2017-01-27
Hans is awesome. The sofas are awesome. Hans works hard to make sure you get what you want. He's friendly and thorough. The sofas are great. Can be custom or stock. Fun fact: since the factory builds things modularly we actually got to put different arms on our sofa. Mix and match! We got the sofa in the window of time he promised and it looks just as expected, feels just as expected and is all around terrific.
Anonymous Reviewer
2017-02-01
Hans was terrific. We went in looking for a small loveseat. Hans spent a few hours with us and met all our expectations. We picked out our frame style, fabric, cushion firmness, leg style, cushion type. It was effortless. So many choices. All of the sofas are custom made in SO-CAL. His prices are extremely reasonable and if you want a floor model it is reduced even further. We ordered our loveseat on a Sunday and he personally delivered it to Walnut Creek 9 days later. Thrilled to say the least.
Anonymous Reviewer
2017-02-26
It is my pleasure to write an amazing review for Hans and this wonderful little business. I found Hans on Yelp and decided to check it out. It was months before I was ready to purchase anything but wanted to do recon first. Hans and Esther just answered all my questions but didn't pressure me to buy anything. I left and came back 6 months later when I was ready. I came with my interior designer. I had in my mind what I wanted and between him, my designer - we "improved" the design that I had in mind and picked out the fabrics. Each detail of the sofa was custom designed. I cannot believe that it took only 2 weeks for it to be finished. Beautiful and exactly as I ordered. The delivery was smooth and the delivery guys polite and did not damage anything in my home and was on time. The price was comparable if not better than the big box stores. I didn't have to pay the extra fees for "custom fabrics" and wait 6-8 weeks or more as I would have in a big box store purchase. Also, Hans gave me great peace of mind since his fabrics are so stain resistant - that theoretically - if you drop say spaghetti sauce on it - you can get it out effectively with some elbow grease and good fabric cleaner like folex. I have to say I haven't had to test out this yet but there is the peace of mind from knowing it should be cleanable. Fast forward 3 months and I was ready for a 2nd sofa for the upstairs. I go straight back to Hans again with my interior designer and 2nd sofa purchased. Just came today and it looks fabulously gorgeous and comfortable with the same stain resistant guarantee. I would show pics of the two sofas but since they are both custom designed I want it all to myself and the bragging rights of having my one of a kind sofa :-) Delivery was great and polite as usual and they even delivered on a Sunday! So - if you need a sofa - go to Hans. Every step in the process was perfection. The only "problems" you'll have is the stress of picking out the fabric and design you want since there are too many good choices. Too bad I don't need a sofa but every 10 years or else I would get more. Too bad Hans doesn't sell other stuff I need like TV, writing desk.....
Anonymous Reviewer
2017-04-22
Hans is the best! Just had my couch delivered and it's great! Just what I wanted. I had been to every couch place in the area and by chance wandered into Alpha. When I told Hans what I was looking for, a queen sleeper sectional, he said no problem and that he can have any couch custom made! Plus it took less than 2 weeks from ordering to bring delivered. During the delivery today, Hans called several times to check in and make sure I got exactly what I wanted. Amazing customer service and he deserves 100 stars!
Anonymous Reviewer
2017-07-23
In the market for a new sofa, my boyfriend and I stopped by Alpha Design Furniture on a lazy Sunday afternoon. There's a small parking lot around back which makes it super convenient to drive to. The showroom features a few styles that are "off the floor" models but the real draw of this place is the customization options-they are seemingly endless! The owner greeted us and answered any questions we had. The sheer amount of colors, fabrics and configuration options are mind boggling (in a good way!) All priced to include delivery and seemed very reasonable for a custom built couch. Great local business, but as we are just starting our sofa search, we didn't end up purchasing this time around. That being said, the quality, unique options and friendly service were well worth a stop in-maybe some day we'll order from them...Definitely stop by Alpha Design if you're in the market for a unique, one of a kind sofa.
Anonymous Reviewer
2017-07-23
Hans is the best! Just had my couch delivered and it's great! Just what I wanted. I had been to every couch place in the area and by chance wandered into Alpha. When I told Hans what I was looking for, a queen sleeper sectional, he said no problem and that he can have any couch custom made! Plus it took less than 2 weeks from ordering to bring delivered. During the delivery today, Hans called several times to check in and make sure I got exactly what I wanted. Amazing customer service and he deserves 100 stars!!!!
Anonymous Reviewer
2017-07-23
It is my pleasure to write an amazing review for Hans and this wonderful little business. I found Hans on Yelp and decided to check it out. It was months before I was ready to purchase anything but wanted to do recon first. Hans and Esther just answered all my questions but didn't pressure me to buy anything. I left and came back 6 months later when I was ready. I came with my interior designer. I had in my mind what I wanted and between him, my designer - we "improved" the design that I had in mind and picked out the fabrics. Each detail of the sofa was custom designed. I cannot believe that it took only 2 weeks for it to be finished. Beautiful and exactly as I ordered. The delivery was smooth and the delivery guys polite and did not damage anything in my home and was on time. The price was comparable if not better than the big box stores. I didn't have to pay the extra fees for "custom fabrics" and wait 6-8 weeks or more as I would have in a big box store purchase. Also, Hans gave me great peace of mind since his fabrics are so stain resistant - that theoretically - if you drop say spaghetti sauce on it - you can get it out effectively with some elbow grease and good fabric cleaner like folex. I have to say I haven't had to test out this yet but there is the peace of mind from knowing it should be cleanable. Fast forward 3 months and I was ready for a 2nd sofa for the upstairs. I go straight back to Hans again with my interior designer and 2nd sofa purchased. Just came today and it looks fabulously gorgeous and comfortable with the same stain resistant guarantee. I would show pics of the two sofas but since they are both custom designed I want it all to myself and the bragging rights of having my one of a kind sofa :-) Delivery was great and polite as usual and they even delivered on a Sunday!! So - if you need a sofa - go to Hans. Every step in the process was perfection. The only "problems" you'll have is the stress of picking out the fabric and design you want since there are too many good choices. Too bad I don't need a sofa but every 10 years or else I would get more. Too bad Hans doesn't sell other stuff I need like TV, writing desk.....
Anonymous Reviewer
2017-07-23
Hans was terrific. We went in looking for a small loveseat. Hans spent a few hours with us and met all our expectations. We picked out our frame style, fabric, cushion firmness, leg style, cushion type. It was effortless. So many choices. All of the sofas are custom made in SO-CAL. His prices are extremely reasonable and if you want a floor model it is reduced evenfurther. We ordered our loveseat on a Sunday and he personally delivered it to Walnut Creek 9 days later. Thrilled to say the least.
Anonymous Reviewer
2017-07-23
Hans is awesome. The sofas are awesome. Hans works hard to make sure you get what you want. He's friendly and thorough. The sofas are great. Can be custom or stock. Fun fact: since the factory builds things modularly we actually got to put different arms on our sofa. Mix and match! We got the sofa in the window of time he promised and it looks just as expected, feels just as expected and is all around terrific.
Anonymous Reviewer
2017-07-23
Hans, the owner, is a delight to work with. You can customize your sofa. We had the legs cut down a bit, as well as the height of the back cushions. "No problem"per Hans. We just got our sofa delivered (the cost of delivery is factored into the cost of the sofa) and it's just as we ordered. It took about about 2 weeks from order to delivery. The furniture is made in LA.
Anonymous Reviewer
2017-07-23
Hi Everyone! I have a great review for you. If you need a new sofa, don't waste your time running around all over, go see Hans at Alpha Designs. My new sectional is beautiful, custom designed by me and Hans got it to me in two weeks! unbelievable. Hans is a very nice, honest man and my husband and I were happy to spend our money at his local, small business. We got exactly what we wanted for way less than Pottery Barn or Crate and Barrel. Thanks Hans, we are 100% satisfied! ... Oh and everything in the floor room is discounted so you might just find it there, without waiting, great store!
Anonymous Reviewer
2017-07-23
Nice quality furniture and reasonable prices. Hans & his staff were very helpful and low pressure. The showroom is not that large but gives a good representation of the styles and materials. We ended up picking something from their web page which goes on forever. We didn't wait long for our chairs and sofa. The delivery guys that work with Hans were great too.
Anonymous Reviewer
2017-07-23
We are very satisfied with our purchase, and with the high quality customer service. Alpha Design truly offers any type of furniture you can imagine at a reasonable price. Be sure to take measurements of the furniture you desire, and be prepared to choose from an extremely large array of fabric options. The price is very reasonable for the first class service and products, and you are guaranteed to get exactly what you want - any style, any color, and any size, because everything is made to order.
Anonymous Reviewer
2017-07-23
This place is really fantastic...front start to finish. I was looking for a small-ish sectional for a small-ish room. Hans, the owner, and his staff helped me pick out both the perfect couch for my needs as well as the fabric that worked for my lifestyle. Hans promised that the couch would be delivered within 2 weeks. Four days after purchase, Hans called me to let me know the couch was ready for delivery. He scheduled the delivery around my schedule. It was delivered right on time by Lugg, a delivery company. After the delivery I received a personal call from Hans to ensure that all went well. Perfect, perfect, perfect!
Anonymous Reviewer
2017-07-23
I had driven by this place many times, never thinking that I would ever get a "custom" sofa. But when all the ready-made options didn't fit the bill, we headed here. What a gem of a store! There are lots of different looks and hundreds (thousands?) of fabrics. Whenever we asked if we could have something a little smaller, or a little bigger, the answer was always "sure". We got the sectional we had been searching for. And the prices are super! Hans was a pleasure to deal with, never pushy, and always making sure that we were completely satisfied. Wish every store was like this...
Anonymous Reviewer
2017-07-23
Amazing Product, great costumer service. Couch delivered by Hans in under two weeks. If something should ever happen to this puppy, I know exactly where I'd get my new one. No complaints. Would recommend to anyone.
Anonymous Reviewer
2017-07-23
Possibly the best experience I've had buying furniture. I decided to forgo a lifetime of buying thrift store couches and get a brand-new one. As Alpha is very near my house, I dropped in. Esther showed me around the floor and encouraged me to try out the different models. There was absolutely no pressure to buy anything, and lots of helpful attention when I asked for it. I finally picked out a couch and then had fun thinking about my fabric. Done deal...I purchased the couch with custom upholstery and special taller legs. Two weeks later, as promised, the couch arrived with the owner, Hans, and his helper. They moved the couch into my house and took away my old one to the local thrift store. If you are couch hunting, save yourself a lot of time and head for Alpha. You will not do better, for quality of product and service. Hans's place is the very best.
Anonymous Reviewer
2017-07-23
Hans is a cool guy. Not pushy, very knowledgeable, funny, loves dogs and classic rock. He let us take our time before picking out a sofa, 2 chairs, and an ottoman. He gave us a significant discount for ordering multiple pieces without us even asking. Goods were delivered promptly and we were really happy with how it turned out. One leg of a chair got bent somehow, so I called Hans. He came all the way from Berkeley out to El Sobrante within hours to get the chair and return it. A week later, he brought it back, all free of charge. Lifetime warranty on frames. And compared to places like Scandinavian Designs and Crate and Barrel, his pieces are very reasonably priced. Thanks!!
Anonymous Reviewer
2017-07-23
Best possible experience. Best customer service. Best prices. Best product. Infinite options for customizing. I spent 6 months off and on looking for a couch. I went to Decorium & priced out a couch with a few modifications. They wanted TWICE as much as Alpha for a couch of similar quality. Because I was under the impression Love Sac was the most customizable couch out there I was an inch from buying a $5000 couch from them despite their crappy customer service and single armrest option. I thought the ability to do full couch cover/upholstery replacement was genius until I discovered it cost min $3000 unless you get the crappiest, tackiest fabrics they have. Might as well buy another friggin couch for that price. I'm a perfectionist. I specked out every last detail possible, floor to seat length, seat to armrest, seat depth, fabric, cushion thickness, seat thickness plus some other shit I can't remember. Hans and the young lady that works there were patient with every bit of it. Hans even offered creative solutions on how to achieve certain details I wanted for less money. I don't recall them ever saying, "we can't do that" or "we can't get it in that color" or all the other "nos" I got everywhere else. These 2 were amazingly helpful, polite and professional. There is no reason whatsoever for me to take my business to a big furniture chain over this fine small business. I'm never going anywhere else.
Anonymous Reviewer
2017-07-23
Man I was expecting to have to shop several places to find a couch, being a big guy and having several others like me in the house, we needed something stronger than your average IKEA garbage. It turned out that our first stop here was also the last we had to make. The staff at Alpha Design was incredibly friendly and helpful. They explained that their furniture was made of solid hardwood and the joints are made using solid metal joinery instead of staples or nails like the cheaper stuff. The showroom has examples of the various styles they produce, including a daybed and your regular comfy chair along with many couches to try. We ended up getting a custom sectional with the addition of a pair of legs in between the centre of each span to add even more stability, and got to select a fabric from many different swatches. I would definitely recommend this place if you're looking for a great couch that's sturdier and higher quality than the big box furniture shop can provide.
Anonymous Reviewer
2017-07-23
This place is great. I am obsessed with my new sofa. The show room features brightly colored modern designs, which isn't my style. But the nice lady who works there advised me to look online and I found the perfect sofa. Hans helped me to pick the right color and fabric for my taste. The look and quality are really good for the price and it was ready in just 2 weeks, delivery included.
Anonymous Reviewer
2017-07-23
My wife and I went there to buy a sectional couch and a chase. We got the best customer service from Hans. Not only he advised us very well but also he did not pressure us at all. Great products. We also like the fact that we can create our custom pieces. Don't waste your time anymore, go and see Hans.
Anonymous Reviewer
2017-07-23
Like another reviewer said, shopping for a couch can be a nightmare. So many options. Wide range of prices. And how are you supposed to remember how your butt felt when you sat on every couch from IKEA to Ashley Furniture? Luckily, I stumbled into Alpha Design (drawn in by the huge, quirky armchair they have sitting outside) and met Hans. He wasn't pushy and let me try the couches in peace, telling me he'd be available if I had questions. When I did have questions, he was incredibly helpful. He even pointed me to a lower-cost couch that was a similar design and feel to a pricier one I had tried. (He found out I was a grad student/teacher combo on a budget.) He gave me his card as I left to continue my couch hunt, but just a week later, I was back and ready to make my purchase. There were lots of decisions to make at Alpha Design - I had to thumb through fabric swatches full of textures and colors and choose a wood for the base. It was a fun process and I ended up with a beautiful, comfortable couch for a reasonable price (delivery to SF at a small additional charge). Three years later, I'm still in love with this furniture decision. Thank you, Hans!
Anonymous Reviewer
2017-12-11
I love the beautiful yellow couch in the window.